“Owning” What I Own

Knowing what you’ve decided to be physically responsible for is important. A part of your energy is being spent on every item you own – every day – whether you realize it or not.

toomuchstuff

I woke up one day with an insatiable urge to clean my house.

I don’t mean just vacuuming, dusting, or picking up the clutter.

It went far deeper than that…

I woke up with the desire to take an inventory of every single object in my possession.

I wanted to know what I had, why I had it, and where it was located. I wanted a conscious inventory of every inanimate object I’d crammed into the closets, stuffed into drawers, slid under the bed, threw in a corner….

I wanted to be fully conscious of everything I’d agreed to be personally, physically responsible for in my home. And I wanted to know how those items were affecting me.

I started with the closet in my bedroom. I pulled out all the boxes, baskets, blankets, shirts, dresses, pants, odds, ends, what the fuck is this’s, and then some.

And I began to sort.

  • keep
  • throw away
  • give away
  • recycle
  • repurpose

Repeat…

Once the physical items were dealt with – I scrubbed. I cleaned each shelf, drawer, wall, and floor with a mixture of essential oils, flower essences, and sacred waters from various places around the world.

It took me nine hours – yes, I said 9 – hours to clean my bedroom closet. But when I was done, what I realized I had was one physical space in my life that was fully organized. There was not a single thing in my closet that didn’t have a purpose or a meaning. In that moment, my closet represented a vision of what it would feel like to not have to be responsible for a single extra piece of meaningless shit in my personal life.

It. Felt. Liberating!

I woke up the following day with a sense of jubilation as I started in on the dresser drawers. I worked my way through my entire house. Room by room. One basket, box, and drawer at a time. Organizing everything. Cleaning everything. Creating space. Creating awareness.

Over the course of a month, I took complete ownership and responsibility for every physical thing in my life.

Sometimes the experience was liberating. Sometimes it was difficult. The entire process was exceptionally and surprisingly Spiritual.

Dealing with my crap was emotional. I spent day after day, week after week, committed to ‘owning’ what I owned. From large pieces of furniture to rubber bands, staples, and tacks – everything was acknowledged, sorted, put in its proper place, or released out of my life.

The end result?

I no longer spend time looking for things. I don’t spend extra money buying replacement items for the crap I know I have but can’t locate. I feel calmer, lighter, less stressed, and less worried.

No more rummaging through drawers. No extra trips to the store. No frustration over a misplaced, can’t finish what I’m doing, need this now, thing.

Once I’d organized and accounted for my stuff, I actually knew what I had and were it was. Imagine that! I need tape. I know where the tape is. I need a screwdriver. I know where the tools are. I need wine. I know where the bottle opener is. It’s. Flippin’. Amazing.

I’d never felt more comfortable, grounded, or relaxed in my environment as I did the moment I finished putting away the very last object.

My life suddenly felt manageable in an entirely new way.

Now, when I think about spending my time, money, and energy on acquiring something, I consider…

  • is it useful?
  • is it meaningful?
  • do I know where will I put it?
  • do I really want to be responsible for this?

If the answers are yes, yes, yes, and yes. I get it. If there is a ‘no’ anywhere in there, I don’t – and I move on – unburdened by anything ‘extra’.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Spirituality

2 responses to ““Owning” What I Own

  1. You know I love this. A thousand times over I love this. I remember when I moved after my divorce and I either sold or gave away everything except my clothes, my polish pottery, and my hutch. I unburdened myself of everything that had even the slightest hint of negative energy. It felt good to start from scratch 🙂

  2. Yes! It does feel good to start from scratch. In the scenario, I felt like I went back to scratch so as not to repeat the same patterns that led me to own until overwhelmed ever again. So good for the soul!

Leave a Reply

